Stars announce 2016 season schedule


The San Antonio Stars will tip off the 2016 season on May 14 against the Atlanta Dream at the AT&T Center, the team announced on Thursday.

San Antonio will begin their 34-game schedule with a home opener for the sixth time in franchise history. The Silver and Black will begin the season with five of their first eight games at the AT&T Center.

With the 2016 Olympics this summer, the WNBA has not scheduled any games from  July 23 through Aug. 25 due to a possible 25 players playing for their respective countries.

Following the Olympic break, the WNBA will begin the second half of the season on August 26. The Stars will face the defending champion Minnesota Lynx three times and the former Tulsa Shock and newly relocated Dallas Wings three times.

To see the full schedule, click here.

Previous articleWNBA approves changes to regular season and playoff format
Next articleBreaking down the 2016 WNBA schedule
Stephen Anderson is a writer and editor for the Project Spurs Network. He joined the PS team back in 2014 as a staff writer with Project Spurs and has taken over as editor for network sites Stars Hoops, Rampage Central, and Red Black 90. Stephen graduated from the University of the Incarnate Word in 2017 with a degree in Communications Arts, specializing in Journalism and Public Relations. He is a credentialed media member for the San Antonio Stars, Rampage, and San Antonio FC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here